Spicy Jambalaya

My husband bought some spicy bratwurst for a BBQ we attended a week ago. We didn’t care for them prepared as a hotdog, but I figured we’d like them in a jambalaya. I had a big bag of rice hanging out needing to be used up, vegetable broth and some canned chicken to add to it. Yes, occasionally, I use canned chicken. Not a whole canned chicken, but the chicken breast chunks, in a can. I also added a can of diced tomatoes, celery, green bell pepper, and garlic. Oh, and bacon. Heavenly delicious bacon. I would have added onion, but as I was unloading my groceries on the belt, I noticed that the onion I picked out was moldy and I forgot to grab one later. Just in case anyone is interested, here is what I used and the exact amount.

3 Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausage Links, sliced

1 Green Bell Pepper, diced

4 Stalks of Celery, chopped

4 Cups of Vegetable broth (can use chicken, but I had vegetable broth on hand)

1 can of Chicken Breast chunks

1 can of Diced Tomatoes

1 tablespoon of minced garlic

2 Cups Brown Rice

4 strips of crispy bacon.

I browned the sausage links in a pan and then drained on a paper towel lined plate. I then sauteed the garlic, bell pepper, and celery in the same pan, seasoning with salt, cayenne pepper, and onion powder. Then in a tall stockpot I added the broth, rice, and the rest of the ingredients, except the chicken. I didn’t want it to get dry, so everything else simmered for 30 minutes and then I added the chicken and let simmer for another 15 minutes. Next time I’ll add worcestershire sauce and maybe a bit of hot sauce when I add the chicken, but it was still pretty tasty.

XoXo Kayla

Leave a Reply

